Ford Focus ST Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,009 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a free copy of windows 7 home premium 32 bit upgrade.

Should i install it over my windows vista home premium 64 bit.

I'm scared things all go Pete Tong
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,901 Posts
QUOTE(Allan @ 27 Nov 2009, 09:46 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>I have a free copy of windows 7 home premium 32 bit upgrade.

Should i install it over my windows vista home premium 64 bit.

I'm scared things all go Pete Tong

Think it may mate! You'd need to wipe clean your hard drive and start all over again with a fresh install! At least that's the case with XP and Vista, unless there's some new trickery in Windows 7, so don't quote me on that
 

·
President of the Universe
Joined
·
3,942 Posts
I run Windows 7, and am very impressed with it.

Should you install over the top of your existing Vista 64bit installation? Not sure there is a black/white answer to that....

I am from the school of "if it ain't broke, don't fix it". If your Vista installation is happily chugging along, and you have no other reason to upgrade, I would be inclined to leave it alone.

As with all upgrades there is going to be a certain amount of pain involved in getting everything set back up the way you want it.

I was fortunate(?) enough to have a hard drive go pop on me, and so needed to reinstall anyway. I took the plunge with Windows 7, and am pleased that I did.

In terms of the difference between 32bit and 64bit - again, it depends on what you use your PC for.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,152 Posts
I got a new laptop yesterday with 64 bit windows 7 on it. Haven't really played with it yet so can't make any judgement on it. Will only really use it for games and tinternet, oh and making the odd home movie!

Not THAT sort of home movie you pervs!!!!!!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
87 Posts
it probably will do a fresh install but ask for the original installation media for the previous OS. although not sure how upgrading from vista 64 to Win7 32 bit will work can see some issues with drivers.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,760 Posts
QUOTE(Alb @ 27 Nov 2009, 01:22 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>If it's an upgrade rather than full version then surely it won't do a fresh install?

Correct, I would be caught in two minds though, Vista is
and we have had Win7 at work and I hate it. It has an XP mode (we have software that wont run on 7 so we need to use XP virtual desktop). However it is not that reliable, hangs all the time!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
138 Posts
I started using 7 at home lastnight and i much prefere it to Vista!

If you have a legit copy then you can just upgrade from Vista to 7 without having to rebuild/reinstall everything, it should just over right the OS.

32bit supports memory of upto 3.5gb and 64bit is anything from 3.6gb and over, im currently missing 0.5gb of memory :'(

I think it also looks nice so it won me over.
 

·
Administrator
Mk2 RS MP350
Joined
·
24,837 Posts
QUOTE(dan3d86 @ 27 Nov 2009, 02:13 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>I started using 7 at home lastnight and i much prefere it to Vista!

If you have a legit copy then you can just upgrade from Vista to 7 without having to rebuild/reinstall everything, it should just over right the OS.

32bit supports memory of upto 3.5gb and 64bit is anything from 3.6gb and over, im currently missing 0.5gb of memory :'(

I think it also looks nice so it won me over.

If you have 4Gbyte of RAM, why not go for the 64 bit version?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,368 Posts
I've got the Ultimate 64bit version and touch wood so far i've not had any problems with it and i've found it a lot easier to use than XP that i was running before. It wasn't an upgrade version though but was the complete install (got it cheaper on pre-order).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,009 Posts
Discussion Starter · #15 ·
Thanks for your opinions chaps.

The free copy i have arrived in the post the other day. I bought a laptop with vista 32bit which camme with free window 7 upgrade. So the upgrade kit i received is windows 7 32 bit version.

I was considering installing it on my PC which is vista 64 bit.

Think i'll hold off for now or load widows 7 onto the laptop. I only bought the laptop when my PC was away for repair.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,297 Posts
QUOTE(Allan @ 27 Nov 2009, 07:03 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Thanks for your opinions chaps.

The free copy i have arrived in the post the other day. I bought a laptop with vista 32bit which camme with free window 7 upgrade. So the upgrade kit i received is windows 7 32 bit version.

I was considering installing it on my PC which is vista 64 bit.

Think i'll hold off for now or load widows 7 onto the laptop. I only bought the laptop when my PC was away for repair.

Why not follow This Tut and do a clean install with your upgrade disc.

You could also partition your hard drive and have it dual boot with your old OS.
 
1 - 17 of 17 Posts
Top