Ford Focus ST Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
327 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have seen a few ST with a black digital display thingy
in there cars and its plugged into i think is the ecu socket. What
are these called and what do theydo? Iwas told is some kind of warning system?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,108 Posts
No Idea!
I haven't read the instructions. Have a look here Click
I have a decat and I just use it to turn my MIL light off. The only other thing I use it for is it tells me temperatures. Other than that I dont really know what it can do. I probably could be getting more use out of it and maybe someone will come along and tell me and you what else it does and how to use it properly.
 

·
President of the Universe
Joined
·
3,942 Posts
QUOTE(thestumper @ 15 Dec 2009, 11:43 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>No Idea!
I haven't read the instructions. Have a look here Click
I have a decat and I just use it to turn my MIL light off. The only other thing I use it for is it tells me temperatures. Other than that I dont really know what it can do. I probably could be getting more use out of it and maybe someone will come along and tell me and you what else it does and how to use it properly.


Aside from the above, there are programmable functions to display a whole suite of information from the car's ECU.

You can have any four of the 25 (or so) values displayed at any one time.

I have RPM, Intake Temperature, Water Temperature, Litres remaining in tank.

However, there are a whole bunch of other stuff I could select at a touch of a button. Such as, fuel pressure, throttle position, miles remaining, bhp currently generated, mph (very accurate), battery voltage, mpg (instant and average), cost per mile, cost per trip etc etc etc.

It also reads DTC codes (although not all error codes), and so will allow you to reset a MIL light.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,108 Posts
QUOTE(choccymonster @ 15 Dec 2009, 11:50 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Aside from the above, there are programmable functions to display a whole suite of information from the car's ECU.

You can have any four of the 25 (or so) values displayed at any one time.

I have RPM, Intake Temperature, Water Temperature, Litres remaining in tank.

However, there are a whole bunch of other stuff I could select at a touch of a button. Such as, fuel pressure, throttle position, miles remaining, bhp currently generated, mph (very accurate), battery voltage, mpg (instant and average), cost per mile, cost per trip etc etc etc.

It also reads DTC codes (although not all error codes), and so will allow you to reset a MIL light.

Cheers for that.

I should read the instructions really, but how do you get bhp currently generated?
 

·
President of the Universe
Joined
·
3,942 Posts
QUOTE(thestumper @ 15 Dec 2009, 12:14 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Cheers for that.

I should read the instructions really, but how do you get bhp currently generated?

You have to enter it as a programmable code - I'll dig out the instructions when I'm at home.

It's dead easy.

However, don't get too excited. This is the BHP generated "on the fly" and it updates instantaneously. i.e. if you're bimbling along in traffic with your foot just tickling the throttle pedal, it only reads 15bhp (or so), as that is the power being generated RIGHT NOW.

Even then, I'm not sure how accurate it really is.

Not that I've tried, but I suspect if you boot it through the gears and go foot flat to the floor, you'll get a more "traditional" BHP reading.....

It's just a bit of fun really......
 

·
President of the Universe
Joined
·
3,942 Posts
I like the fuel management aspect.

Each time I go to fill the car, I tell it how many litres I put in, and what the cost of the fuel was (per litre).

It can then work out precisely how much fuel remains in the tank (down to 0.1 of a litre), my cost per mile, my cost per trip, the cost per day, how many miles remain in the tank, how many hours the tank will last at the current speed, etc etc.

I like stuff like that, but then again I'm an ex-pilot. I always did have a healthy interest in how much fuel was left.....


 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,108 Posts
QUOTE(choccymonster @ 15 Dec 2009, 12:24 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Not that I've tried, but I suspect if you boot it through the gears and go foot flat to the floor, you'll get a more "traditional" BHP reading.....

It's just a bit of fun really......

Cheers, For a bit of fun I will try the foot flat to the floor method then.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,108 Posts
QUOTE(choccymonster @ 15 Dec 2009, 12:24 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>You have to enter it as a programmable code - I'll dig out the instructions when I'm at home.

No need to dig it out, I have been on to the scangauge website and I have found the code, so I will test it on the way home from work. Cheers anyway
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,108 Posts
QUOTE(Simo @ 15 Dec 2009, 05:34 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Does it plug into the OBD port permanently? It would be interesting to see what power outputs its shows for different mods...

Chris

No you can take it out. My wire just runs from the OBD port and its neatly tucked in over the top of the steering column. Just had some interesting readings though. Foot down in 2nd up to about 4500rpm and it read 345bhp! Also on the way home I have seen figures up to 388bhp!
No need for Ric Woods RR day now, Im happy with those figures.
Dont think its very accurate but I think I may check that I have the right code.
 
1 - 20 of 28 Posts
Top