Ford Focus ST Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
535 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm posting this here as its ice related I suppose, feel free to move it to appropriate section .

Sync will not play iPod , message says USB drive error , so I started BT streaming from iPhone and it was fine until I stopped to fill up , got back in and now it won't stream either .

Every thing else works fine , had this happen a while back and had software update done at fords and its been fine since then .

In the menu there is a sync reset , but I'm not sure wether to try it as I'm not sure what it will do and I might lose the emergency assist that was added , any ideas would be appreciated as I don t want another trip to fords

Cheers in advance

Just a thought. Is it because its got 5 doors LOL
 

·
Super Moderator
2019 AMG C43
Joined
·
13,348 Posts
Lol @ 5 doors
I don't use iAnything so can't help I'm afraid. I've got a USB stick and a Windows Phone 7 phone, all works lovely
I'm also not sure what the reset does, at a guess I'd say it does a factory reset - whether that will lose any upgrades or not is an unknown. Sorry I couldn't be of more help!
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,257 Posts
I have had problems , with iPod sync, sometimes I can get in it won't work, other times it won't let me change track, lately every time I get in it always says track 1 , sometimes I unplug and reset iPod , might work for a bit. Is there a limit on songs u can have as I have now got an iPod classic??
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
535 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Lol @ 5 doors
I don't use iAnything so can't help I'm afraid. I've got a USB stick and a Windows Phone 7 phone, all works lovely
I'm also not sure what the reset does, at a guess I'd say it does a factory reset - whether that will lose any upgrades or not is an unknown. Sorry I couldn't be of more help!
Cheers Sean ,
With the USB stick do you get track info ETC as I might just get one of them
 

·
Super Moderator
2019 AMG C43
Joined
·
13,348 Posts
I don't think there's a limit on songs, but after a large number of tracks it'll tell you that you can't pick a track by name using voice. That's because it runs out of 'grammar', the number of words it will recognise.

Cheers Sean ,
With the USB stick do you get track info ETC as I might just get one of them
You will get track info with the USB stick as long as the MP3 tags are set correctly, because that's where Sync gets the info.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,368 Posts
No idea on the ipod situation or the sync reset, most sync info is online but you should be able to check the emergency assist option via the H.U.

press the phone button & when you scroll down you should have an emergency assistance option that you could enable/disable. Not sure how it could have been 'added' as a later feature.
 

·
Super Moderator
2019 AMG C43
Joined
·
13,348 Posts
No idea on the ipod situation or the sync reset, most sync info is online but you should be able to check the emergency assist option via the H.U.

press the phone button & when you scroll down you should have an emergency assistance option that you could enable/disable. Not sure how it could have been 'added' as a later feature.
It was added as an upgrade to Gary's and Kev's cars as they had really early cars with a slightly older version of Sync. A couple of others had to get the upgrade too.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
535 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
I've just done a quick google and found a post which mentions all USB problems and he pulled the fuse and waited 30 seconds
All,soughted

May lose settings but what do you reckon
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
535 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·
I've just done a quick google and found a post which mentions all USB problems and he pulled the fuse and waited 30 seconds
All,soughted

May lose settings but what do you reckon
Had a look today and found 2 fuses with audio on them ,nothing with sync, was about to pull fuses ten had a thought about radio code

Nothing in the handbook and no code card , so thought I'd give rates a call and spoke to a tech there who confirmed these radios don't have a code ,and pulling the fuse is 1 of the methods they use to reboot the system , he said pull and wait 30 mins for it to power down .

So will try tomorrow

I tried the reset and all it did was to clear the bonded phone , didn't change any settings at all
 

·
Super Moderator
2019 AMG C43
Joined
·
13,348 Posts
Had a look today and found 2 fuses with audio on them ,nothing with sync, was about to pull fuses ten had a thought about radio code

Nothing in the handbook and no code card , so thought I'd give rates a call and spoke to a tech there who confirmed these radios don't have a code ,and pulling the fuse is 1 of the methods they use to reboot the system , he said pull and wait 30 mins for it to power down .

So will try tomorrow

I tried the reset and all it did was to clear the bonded phone , didn't change any settings at all
So much for the reset being scary then lol. Let us know what happens when you pull the fuse, assuming the world doesn't end as a result...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
535 Posts
Discussion Starter · #15 ·
Pulled the fuse today left it for 30 minutes and replaced it

Still getting the same issues , but all the settings remained the same as if the-power hadn't been disconnected .

I did try to turn the radio on to check it was the correct fuse and it wouldn't come on , perhaps might have to leave it longer
 

·
Super Moderator
2019 AMG C43
Joined
·
13,348 Posts
I sometimes get my android phone to work with sync but many times it doesnt, my conclusion is that sync is just rubbish!
Just because your phone doesn't work with it? That's a bit harsh. My phone works perfectly with it - finally there's a benefit to owning a Windows phone
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
21 Posts
Just because your phone doesn't work with it? That's a bit harsh. My phone works perfectly with it - finally there's a benefit to owning a Windows phone
Its not harsh, its a fact, my phone is a Samsung Galaxy S2, does that mean that Sync doesnt work with Android? Besides ive been getting a bunch of problems with sync, for example if I turn on the AC, sync automatically starts playing whats on my usb drive; when I make a phone call first, sync wont turn on the AC later. Dont know if you are having the same issues in the UK, but if I could have the option of saving some money I would buy my ST without Sync.
 

·
Super Moderator
2019 AMG C43
Joined
·
13,348 Posts
Its not harsh, its a fact, my phone is a Samsung Galaxy S2, does that mean that Sync doesnt work with Android? Besides ive been getting a bunch of problems with sync, for example if I turn on the AC, sync automatically starts playing whats on my usb drive; when I make a phone call first, sync wont turn on the AC later. Dont know if you are having the same issues in the UK, but if I could have the option of saving some money I would buy my ST without Sync.
I'd say there are some issues with your Sync....the USB shouldn't affect the A/C and vice versa. And as far as I'm aware the S2's in the UK work fine with it. I'd have a word with your dealer.
 
1 - 20 of 21 Posts
Top