Ford Focus ST Forum banner
1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Premium Member
2006 ST-2 MK2
Joined
·
514 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So i finally got the st plugged in with forscan (seems not a lot of options in this app) and i've got the this
===MC DTC P1248-60===
Code: P1248 - Turbo Boost Pressure Not Detected

I've already changed MAF/MAP/Solenoid and my boost hose (IC-throttle) I see no option to clear this code,no real results doing a search on why this code would be there.

No boost leaks and turbo spins fine, after hose replaced and KAM reset i got boost for less than 5 seconds and has never done it again. Actuator opens and closes by sucking on the small pipe on the inlet (advised by a member here).

I have the basic forscan so not many options to check the car. Would anyone know what could be up?
 

·
Premium Member
Mk3 Sabre 350R ST366
Joined
·
292 Posts
May possibly be the following:

Wastegate control hose going to the actuator is leaking, loose or damaged
Wastegate solenoid is damaged, sticking or has failed
PCM has failed
 

·
Premium Member
2006 ST-2 MK2
Joined
·
514 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
If it was PCM would that not cause more problems like not starting?
Not sure about wastegate as it opens and closes plus solenoid was replaced unless i've had a bad one.
 

·
Premium Member
Mk3 Sabre 350R ST366
Joined
·
292 Posts
The boost pressure sensor responds to pressure changes in the intake manifold. This pressure is created by the turbocharger and changes with Accelerator Pedal Position (APP) and engine speed. The Powertrain Control Module (PCM) uses this information to assist in diagnosis of the barometric pressure (BARO) sensor and to provide engine overboost protection. The boost pressure sensor has a 5-volt reference circuit, a low reference circuit, and a signal circuit. The PCM supplies 5 volts to the boost pressure sensor on the 5-volt reference 2 circuit, and provides a ground on a low reference circuit. The boost pressure sensor provides a signal to the PCM on a signal circuit relative to the pressure changes. The PCM monitors the boost pressure sensor signal for voltage outside of the normal range. The PCM calculates a predicted value for the boost pressure sensor. The PCM then compares the predicted value to the actual signal.
 

·
Premium Member
2006 ST-2 MK2
Joined
·
514 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Yep i know what it is as i read the wiki as well (not saying it rude) but i also know if it is the problem would it not cause problems for more things its connected to.

Bad wire from it? damp due to it being left so long before being put back on the road? I can see that forscan shows i can't clear the code just to see if it was only set off due to my boost hose being split as i did get boost right after it being changed.
 

·
Premium Member
Mike Mk2 ST225
Joined
·
2,639 Posts
Be an idea to use some software that can clear the code.

It's possible if what you're using is limited, there's more codes that simply aren't being shown on your software.

If the sensors are genuine and good and there's no boost leaks or mechanical faults and the ECU is saying nothing detected (with no other faults) following wires would probably be a wise move. The map sensor can quite easily get caught on stuff if you're not careful, it wouldn't be the first time a wire we broken at the plug underneath the rubber boot. It's possible the ECU has a fault.

Wild guess it might be the clocks as they can cause funny things. Maybe "tap" the dash and see what happens.

It's possible the cars just protecting itself whilst there's a code stored that's scared it and clearing might fix the problem.

Unfortunately it's either something simple you need to find or electrical in my opinion
 

·
Administrator
Mk2 RS MP350
Joined
·
24,971 Posts
Some times the best option is to get the car on a proper Ford IDS because that's the only system guaranteed to detect everything.
 

·
Premium Member
MK2 facelift st 2000 puma millennium Chinese 125cc scrambler
Joined
·
2,000 Posts
The mobile forscan app (just like every other) is terrible, the proper full version run off a laptop is the best home option.
 

·
Premium Member
2006 ST-2 MK2
Joined
·
514 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
The mobile forscan app (just like every other) is terrible, the proper full version run off a laptop is the best home option.
That is the one i used, Due to royal mail i had to wait weeks for my car charger for my laptop, plugged it in and it read the code but that was about it, i couldn't get much more out of it.
 

·
Premium Member
MK2 facelift st 2000 puma millennium Chinese 125cc scrambler
Joined
·
2,000 Posts
The full version is absolutely brilliant, if you couldn't get much out of it that's on you. You can diagnose and clear all codes, access separate modules and test virtually every component, have it running and displaying live data from just about everything that gives information to the ECU. I used it a few weeks back to fix the problem on the puma with the radiator fan not working, I was able to test the fan from the laptop without the need to disconnect anything or faff around with a 12v supply to the wires and was able to trace the problem back to the coolant temperature sensor. You can also use it to fire the abs module and bleed the brakes. I also used it to program a new key for the puma.
 

·
Premium Member
2006 ST-2 MK2
Joined
·
514 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
The full version is absolutely brilliant, if you couldn't get much out of it that's on you.
Not sure that rude comment was needed or intended, i'm going to plug it back in and use the one from their site as i only installed the one off the cd i had with the ELM 327 kit.
 

·
Premium Member
2006 ST-2 MK2
Joined
·
514 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 · (Edited)
So ive cleared the code and car seems to run a bit better but still no boost. It also hangs on 1/4 now till my foot is off pedal.
 

·
Premium Member
2006 ST-2 MK2
Joined
·
514 Posts
Discussion Starter · #15 ·
So i've plugged it n with full version and this is what i've got (picture), i've check the fuse box behind glove box and it all looks find and has been replaced before, reset PCM twice even with no error's and heard it click both times it was reset.

Clocks are fine as well.
 

Attachments

·
Premium Member
2006 ST-2 MK2
Joined
·
514 Posts
Discussion Starter · #16 ·
So can someone point me in the direction on someone that can help? a site,person,company? it seems unless its the same question and it can get a copy and paste answer nothing else gets real help on here.

Yes i took it to ford and that found nothing wrong and want another 120$ for another hour.
 

·
Super Moderator
2019 AMG C43
Joined
·
13,429 Posts
it seems unless its the same question and it can get a copy and paste answer nothing else gets real help on here.
Little harsh, I think. There are a lot of members on here with a lot of knowledge. You have been provided with a fair amount of information which you appear to have dismissed just because you found the same info somewhere else. Just because there's nobody here that can immediately diagnose your particular issue and tell you how to fix it has no reflection on the quantity and quality of the knowledge available on these forums and getting frustrated with people isn't going to motivate them to help. You just happen to have hit on an issue that nobody seems to have experience of themselves.

I'd suggest taking it to a specialist, one of the tuners maybe depending on how close they are to you. A quick Google of 'Ford tuners near Dudley' brings up several options on the first page alone, although obviously you'll only know if they're any good by looking at reviews and maybe a recommendation from somebody on here who lives in the same area.
 

·
Premium Member
2006 ST-2 MK2
Joined
·
514 Posts
Discussion Starter · #18 ·
Little harsh, I think. There are a lot of members on here with a lot of knowledge. You have been provided with a fair amount of information which you appear to have dismissed just because you found the same info somewhere else. Just because there's nobody here that can immediately diagnose your particular issue and tell you how to fix it has no reflection on the quantity and quality of the knowledge available on these forums and getting frustrated with people isn't going to motivate them to help. You just happen to have hit on an issue that nobody seems to have experience of themselves.

I'd suggest taking it to a specialist, one of the tuners maybe depending on how close they are to you. A quick Google of 'Ford tuners near Dudley' brings up several options on the first page alone, although obviously you'll only know if they're any good by looking at reviews and maybe a recommendation from somebody on here who lives in the same area.
Like above comment "how is it rude/harsh" the mentioned above was said to not work and kindly asked for any more help, its not harsh saying the copy & paste answers which many do here, like it or not, it does happen 90% of the time.

A turner really is not one for this problem as i've already took it to two that just said a sensor on which it was replaced, i've took it to ford and they found nothing wrong and wanted more money just to look at it on the ramps (yes just look and not do anything else)

Being frustrated is not in my comments as i'm calm and looking up my problem to try and fix it which a nice search on here leads to the same copy & paste then the threads are dead with nothing of any help, this is why i asked and pointed out the copy & paste, take it how you want but its not just the site change that moved people from here but the dead posts showing no real answers to anyone's problems.
 
1 - 20 of 61 Posts
Top