Ford Focus ST Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Guys and gals, newbie here! have had an annoying fault at start up in my 07 st2 it misfires for about 10 to 15 seconds, then runs fine, doesn't do it every time, anyone else had this fault, leaves no warnings on dash and my local ford dealer dont know!!!!!!

·
Registered
24,177 Posts
QUOTE(tonyl829 @ 4 Jan 2010, 12:45 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Hi Guys and gals, newbie here! have had an annoying fault at start up in my 07 st2 it misfires for about 10 to 15 seconds, then runs fine, doesn't do it every time, anyone else had this fault, leaves no warnings on dash and my local ford dealer dont know!!!!!!

You had best check the coolant for signs of oil and the oil for signs of coolant im afraid! Sounds very much like the cracked liner problem! Best get it checked out in case it is! Other scenarios are knackered spark plugs or coil packs!

·
Banned
6,700 Posts
Does it mainly misfire when it's been left sitting for a few hours? Also check the coolant level, is it low or when the engine is stone cold and you open the header tank cap does air escape and the coolant level rise?

Maybe the plugs need looking at but if the coolant level is messing around it could be a sign of something worse

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
QUOTE(fishface31a @ 4 Jan 2010, 12:51 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
You had best check the coolant for signs of oil and the oil for signs of coolant im afraid! Sounds very much like the cracked liner problem! Best get it checked out in case it is! Other scenarios are knackered spark plugs or coil packs!

Its just had its second service at 15,000, they said no faults etc etc, i had previously checked water and oil with no apparant problems, so still confused lol

·
Registered
1,119 Posts