Ford Focus ST Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This morning i started the car which has had s new head gasket and a service which it passed all withing the last 8 months ... But turned the car on this morning and it sounds like a subaru even when idling also have engine warning light..... while driving it's very lumpy and juddering no white smoke not losing coolent and oil is clean.... Any ideas what or why this is happening.. I have no mechanical knowledge.... So anything any help would be greatful

·
Premium Member
Mike Mk2 ST225
2,634 Posts
Get the codes read, sounds like a misfire, probably a coil pack gone down.

If you can switch the coil packs to another cylinder and the misfire follows you have your answer, and if one's gone the others will likely follow soon.

Potentially you could unplug each pack whilst running and see if one makes no difference to the running.

Then swap that pack with another cylinder to confirm

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hey thanks for the reply I literally have no idea what any of what you said means as i'lile I said I have zero mechanical knowledge.... I need to know is the car capable of driving..?? I need to get to work and back tonight and tomorrow and then drive 60 miles to see my daughter tomorrow... I only get to see her once a week so I'm desperately asking for advice

·
Premium Member
Alan St500
1,421 Posts
Hey thanks for the reply I literally have no idea what any of what you said means as i'lile I said I have zero mechanical knowledge.... I need to know is the car capable of driving..?? I need to get to work and back tonight and tomorrow and then drive 60 miles to see my daughter tomorrow... I only get to see her once a week so I'm desperately asking for advice
I wouldn’t drive it if it was mine bud 🤔

·
Premium Member
Mike Mk2 ST225
2,634 Posts