Ford Focus ST Forum banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
1,673 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ive been putting of replacing my slipping clutch for 6 months now, but the time has come to replace it.
My dillema is im no where near any of the forum supporters so im gunna have to go with my local garage who i feel do a good job.
So ill be ordering the kit for delivery, anyway the wife drives the car daily and shes tiny! 5foot like a twig, i was going to go with the rs kit as its a good few hundred quid less than kalmars AP kit, however everyone sais the pedal is heavier/stiffer with the rs kit. My young honey will not like that one bit. can anyone give me an idea or try to explain how different it really feels? Otherwise ill have to take the plunge and spend extra on the AP kit as ive heard it feels as good as the standard clutch.
Oh what to do, any thoughts welcomed?

·
Premium Member
Graham - mk2 stage 3
5,228 Posts
Yes the RS clutch feels heavier, but only for a couple of days. You soon get used to it and others have posted that their Wives/GFs have had no issues adapting. to it.

I was considering the Volvo clutch and the single mass flywheel, but for road use I concluded that the RS kit was the way to go.

·
Registered
6,843 Posts
The RS clutch is fine some just find the bite a bit more positive for a few days but I got used to it pretty quickly.

The single mass flywheels can be noisy at idle

·
Registered
1,673 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks guys i was worried about noise with the single mass flywheel. So ill order up the rs kit once ive worked out who is cheapest for supply only. do i need to purchase anything else with the kit ie bolts or bits? Cheers

·
Registered
10,290 Posts
Thanks guys i was worried about noise with the single mass flywheel. So ill order up the rs kit once ive worked out who is cheapest for supply only. do i need to purchase anything else with the kit ie bolts or bits? Cheers
Parts box have 15% off everything at the mo.