Ford Focus ST Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
1,694 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is there many people in the RAF on here. Reason i ask is im currently trying to join and was wondering what its like. Cheers.

·
Registered
773 Posts
Training can be tiring - long days at the start and there is a lot of info to learn and retain. Are you looking at going for a commission or as a junior rank?

I spent 16 years as an RAF dependant (Dad), then I was in for a while before I married my ex-husband which made me a dependant again for another 9 years. It's definitely an experience worth doing!

·
Registered
1,694 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Ive applied to be an aircraft technician on the mechanical side so starting on the bottom rung of the ladder lol. Im a qualified welder by trade so already got some kind of experience. I just hate welding so thought id attempt a career change, i had 20/20 vision till i started welding at 16years of age then i straight away had to wear reading glasses.

·
Registered
773 Posts
My advice would be to make sure that you are physically fit before you go as it's easy to get injured if you aren't (I tore an achilles tendon on a cross country run and ended up in plaster and on holding flight till I got fit again). The training is designed to be testing both mentally and physically and the first few weeks are the hardest as you get used to the long hours (up early, prepare yourself and the block for inspection, full day of training, kit preparation for the next day, block cleaning (and they are picky about standards), sleep and do it all again). It is character building though and can be a laugh at times too.

Mart170 will also be able to give you a more up to date perspective as he did his training more recently than I did and it has changed (was 7 weeks, now 9 I think).

Good luck with everything. Have you done your aptitude test yet?

·
Registered
128 Posts