Ford Focus ST Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi folks

I’ve bought a Mk3 RS genuine spoiler, that I’m hoping to take apart to paint and fit to the ST-3.
Does anyone know how to take it apart without breaking it? The bodyshop want it separated for painting

Any help would be appreciated

·
Registered
380 Posts
Hi folks

I’ve bought a Mk3 RS genuine spoiler, that I’m hoping to take apart to paint and fit to the ST-3.
Does anyone know how to take it apart without breaking it? The bodyshop want it separated for painting

Any help would be appreciated
Im a painter iv done a few of them. They cant be taken apart if OEM, the aftermarket ones can be. Dont even try it either, you will crack it 100 percent on the centre section if you try. Its bonded on there real good... You need to mask it off and its a pain to mask it off properly.

I take out the two bolts underneath the spoiler in order to lift the centre section (black section with two tabs coming down). This allows me to paint under them before bolting them back down. The edges need masked and you need to use numerious peices to complete this, you need to leave enough room to get in the groove so you dont cause an edge, but go close enough so you dont paint the black section. If you get overspray on the black section use a tiny plastic tool to scrape it off, once dry.

Essentially the whole black section of the spoiler needs masked and wrapped. Take the two bolts out this section to get under the part where it makes contact to the colored section. Hope this helps

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Im a painter iv done a few of them. They cant be taken apart if OEM, the aftermarket ones can be. Dont even try it either, you will crack it 100 percent on the centre section if you try. Its bonded on there real good... You need to mask it off and its a pain to mask it off properly.