Ford Focus ST Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
477 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello group

Any ideas as to what the problem is? not mine but a fellow member has lost the power from his
and is now drinking fuel, circa 20mpg, i'm keen to know/help as I sold him the car a few months ago.

Cheers
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
477 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
QUOTE(Dabhand16 @ 26 Dec 2009, 04:21 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>I'm still new to all of this ST lark, but I'm sure I've seen on here that a faulty/dirty MAF sensor can cause this?

Thanks chap

I'm the same as you being fairly new to it all, but that was my first thoughts having had read some of the previous forums, it proves that this is the right place to be.

Give me a MK1/2 Escort as I used to know just about where every nut and bolt came from.

Cheers
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
477 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
QUOTE(Chris @ 26 Dec 2009, 04:55 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Ask him to try removing the Kam fuse, number 26, leave it for a while then replace it then run it for a while see if it makes any difference!

Hi Chris

That rings a bell, I did search earlier but with no joy,

You are a star
I will keep you posted
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
477 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
QUOTE(STEO @ 26 Dec 2009, 05:01 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Hi Chris

That rings a bell, I did search earlier but with no joy,

You are a star
I will keep you posted

Hello Chris

He tried the fuse 26 to no avail, he's heading down to ford next week to have it looked at,

Thanks for your help though

Cheers
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
477 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
QUOTE(fishface31a @ 27 Dec 2009, 01:48 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
First place i would look is at the airfilter! Is it dirty or wet?


he's popping round tomorrow for me to have a look at, if it is the filter I have a spare one, I will keep you posted

Cheers
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
477 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·
Update

He popped around mine Monday to have a look, I removed the airfilter and took it for a quick blast and all seemed to be fine, replaced the airfilter with a spare one I had and again all appeared ok.

We removed the Bluefin and it went into Ford yesterday, they had it for 9 hours and found nothing but have told him they have updated it to the latest technolgy?

Anyway he's going to see how it runs then reinstall the Bluefin. When he bought the car off me Bluefin was already installed, he wanted me to remove it but I convinced him to leave it on and now that he has had a couple of days without it he's desperate to get it back on the car.

Although not a lot has been done, fingers crossed it wont happen again

Thanks for your help guys

Cheers
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
448 Posts
QUOTE(STEO @ 30 Dec 2009, 09:55 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Update

We removed the Bluefin and it went into Ford yesterday, they had it for 9 hours and found nothing but have told him they have updated it to the latest technolgy?

Oh dear I bet you just stuffed your bluefin, if ford reflashed the ECU the bluefin may not load on it anymore. Happened to me on my ST170, the bluefin needed to be reset by superchips. Not sure if the ST version is still sensitive to this though. Hopefully you'll be okay.
 

·
Super Moderator
MK3 Focus RS Nitrous Blue
Joined
·
8,488 Posts
If i remember correctly all the remaps had to be upgraded when ford upgraded the ecu it caused a few problems at the time
check in the tuning section that might help
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
477 Posts
Discussion Starter · #16 ·
QUOTE(Enceladus @ 30 Dec 2009, 06:19 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Oh dear I bet you just stuffed your bluefin, if ford reflashed the ECU the bluefin may not load on it anymore. Happened to me on my ST170, the bluefin needed to be reset by superchips. Not sure if the ST version is still sensitive to this though. Hopefully you'll be okay.

Thanks for letting us know, i will look out for that

Cheers
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
6,700 Posts
QUOTE(STEO @ 30 Dec 2009, 07:52 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Thanks for letting us know, i will look out for that

Cheers
You should be ok with the bluefin, it was maybe 18 months ago or longer that Ford came up with a new calibration and protocols which blocked handset programming for a short time. Was known as 7BUG so unless the handset is pretty old it should cope with the latest Ford calibration. If not a quick phonecall to Superchips will have it sorted pronto
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
477 Posts
Discussion Starter · #18 ·
QUOTE(troy45 @ 30 Dec 2009, 07:57 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>You should be ok with the bluefin, it was maybe 18 months ago or longer that Ford came up with a new calibration and protocols which blocked handset programming for a short time. Was known as 7BUG so unless the handset is pretty old it should cope with the latest Ford calibration. If not a quick phonecall to Superchips will have it sorted pronto


Thanks Troy

Thats reassuring, I bought the handset from new stock in May this year so as you say should be Ok, I have had dealings with Jo at Superchips
and I'm sure he's the man to sort it should there be a problem.

Cheers
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
477 Posts
Discussion Starter · #19 ·
QUOTE(STEO @ 30 Dec 2009, 08:07 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Thanks Troy

Thats reassuring, I bought the handset from new stock in May this year so as you say should be Ok, I have had dealings with Jo at Superchips
and I'm sure he's the man to sort it should there be a problem.

Cheers

Just to update you

Thankfully the Bluefin went back on the motor without a hitch and his car appears to be running fine at the moment

Once again thanks for your help guys
 
1 - 19 of 19 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top