Ford Focus ST Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
82 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey All,

Just grabbed myself one of the KENWOOD DNX5220BT unit and just wanted to check which additional parts I will need to purchase in order to fit the unit correctly. This unit will be replacing my Gen1 Sony stereo.

So.

1. Fascia plate- Here
2. ISO Lead- Here
3. Stalk Lead - Here

Do I just need the parts above? Is the Connects2 brand decent quality?

Thanks in advance!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
699 Posts
yeah mate that looks about right to me!

I think connects2 are the only manufacturer people have been using on here anyway. my fascia plate is a connects2 one. bit of a tight fit but once its in its a nice fit!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
82 Posts
QUOTE(RobboST @ 23 Jan 2010, 02:19 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>yeah mate that looks about right to me!

I think connects2 are the only manufacturer people have been using on here anyway. my fascia plate is a connects2 one. bit of a tight fit but once its in its a nice fit!

Cheers pal,

Will the fascia plate be enough to hold it in properly or do I need the full ford fitting kit with the additional fitting cage?

Thanks
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
571 Posts
With your stalk controller, dont forget to add a patch lead for the make of stereo you have i.e. JVC, Pioneer, or in your case, a kenwood one.

Think they're a fiver.

Regards.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
82 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
QUOTE(ST Bunky @ 24 Jan 2010, 12:17 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>With your stalk controller, dont forget to add a patch lead for the make of stereo you have i.e. JVC, Pioneer, or in your case, a kenwood one.

Think they're a fiver.

Regards.

Cheers pal,

I have all the parts I need now but just have a few more questions before I install the unit on Sat.

1) Does anything need to be done in regards to the rear parking sensor cable or should I leave it as it is?
2) Where is the best place to put the mic + GPS Antenna?

Cheers
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
571 Posts
QUOTE(magicone @ 27 Jan 2010, 08:40 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Cheers pal,

I have all the parts I need now but just have a few more questions before I install the unit on Sat.

1) Does anything need to be done in regards to the rear parking sensor cable or should I leave it as it is?
2) Where is the best place to put the mic + GPS Antenna?

Cheers

I dont have rear parking sensors on my car, sorry.

But the mic i have infront of the rear view mirror, then i run the lead along the roof lining (taped in) then down the sill tucked under the rubber lining. then i run it under the dash through to the stereo.

The GPS antenna roughly the same, but thats parked on the right hand side on the dash under the windscreen. Best signal there. I then run the wire tucked into the little gap between the dash and window piller. then tuck into a little gap into the trim down the side of the dash. Lift the rubber sill, then just push the wire into the trim, then run the wire under the dash to the stereo.

Hope that makes sence?

The handbrake cable i just stuck into the aerial....bad i know.


It looks very neet and tidy with minimal wire showing.

You could take all the dash and roof linings out, but sorry that wasnt for me...too scared lol.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
82 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
QUOTE(ST Bunky @ 2 Feb 2010, 09:36 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>I dont have rear parking sensors on my car, sorry.

But the mic i have infront of the rear view mirror, then i run the lead along the roof lining (taped in) then down the sill tucked under the rubber lining. then i run it under the dash through to the stereo.

The GPS antenna roughly the same, but thats parked on the right hand side on the dash under the windscreen. Best signal there. I then run the wire tucked into the little gap between the dash and window piller. then tuck into a little gap into the trim down the side of the dash. Lift the rubber sill, then just push the wire into the trim, then run the wire under the dash to the stereo.

Hope that makes sence?

The handbrake cable i just stuck into the aerial....bad i know.


It looks very neet and tidy with minimal wire showing.

You could take all the dash and roof linings out, but sorry that wasnt for me...too scared lol.

Cheers pal, in the end i got someone to fit everything for me for 60 notes. They have done a really good job, the GPS antenna is hidden behind the glove box and I am getting full signal, the bluetooth mic is on the top right pillar and there are no wires showing...only slight problem is the connect 2 fascia doesnt sit flush ..not sure if its the fascia itself or its the wrong way up..will have a look at the weekend...unit is awesome.

Just bought a 60gig portable hard drive from fleabay for £25 . The usb cable has been wired to the glovebox so gonna get some velcro strips and attach that inside the glovebox.

Any ideas as to what format the drive has to be FAT32 or NTFS for the Double Din player to read it properly?

Cheers
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
99 Posts
Sorry to hi-jack the thread matey, just after a bit of confirmation.

My standard Sony 6 disc unit has decided to give up the ghost and Ford are being useless so I've decided to sort it out myself. To do this I would need...

A new head unit (probably this one http://caraudiosecurity.com/shop/product/p...s_id/10883.html )
2 adaptor leads for the stalk controls
Fascia adaptor

That lot is fine as I've changed a few before, the confusion I have is with the ISO lead, whenever I've changed stereos before I don't remember buying one of these, although I may be mistaken... but I assume I definitely need to buy a new one?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
571 Posts
Yeah Mech, You will need an ISO lead. My Ford stereo connector was too big for the Kenwood. Which with research i found out.

So i should think it will be too big for the Alpine.

When you get the right ISO lead, dont forget the Stalk control patch lead for the make of system you're getting. I nearly forgot this bit.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
99 Posts
QUOTE(ST Bunky @ 4 Feb 2010, 02:55 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Yeah Mech, You will need an ISO lead. My Ford stereo connector was too big for the Kenwood. Which with research i found out.

So i should think it will be too big for the Alpine.

When you get the right ISO lead, dont forget the Stalk control patch lead for the make of system you're getting. I nearly forgot this bit.


Ahh I see, thanks mate


Now all I've got to do is choose whether to get that head unit or another one, decisions decisions...
 
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
Top