Ford Focus ST Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
looking at either getting mountune mr290 or the jw racing tune stage 3 which is better ? i notice the jw stage 3 is cheaper and also comes with RS clutch! but they dont show any graphs or any 0-60 times etc
unlike mountune !

cheers

·
Registered
1,343 Posts
I have no experience of either map, but personally due to the clutch issue and if i had the cash to do it all in one go I would go jwr.

You could also ask on there sponsor page for a graph, in sure they will help you out.

·
Registered
10,661 Posts
The JWR maps are written by Autotech in Sweden. As we all know the Swedes have a history with the 5-pot motor. As such the Autotech maps have a reputation to be smooth, strong and safe. Also from what I have read in the RS world they deliver the goods.
If I was not so pleased with my Collins Stage 2 software, the map I would go for is the Autotech from JWR. But that is just my personal choice.

·
Registered
4,115 Posts
Regarding the JWRacing map have a read of this article, I got it through the Pumaspeed Website but the article was in Fast Ford magazine recently and is a group test of a number of stage 3 maps and includes JW Racings map and graphs.

http://www.pumaspeed...t_optimized.pdf
"Ross estimated that the loss from the fly to the wheels in the case of our st to be roughly 75bhp........"

Any reason they correct it by 35%?

I thought 15% was more likely.......

·
Registered
10,661 Posts
When motorcycles are dyno'd they are always measured at the floor. It is more accurate and figure that really matters. But it wont inflate ego's im afraid.
For accurate flywheel horsepower an engine dyno is required.

·
Registered
874 Posts