Ford Focus ST Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Premium Member
Graham - mk2 stage 3
5,253 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm in my first Winter with my ST, so I'm still learning. This just might save you some inconvenience, and varying amount of cash.

I've been off work since Thursday of last week, so not had to use the car much. I've kept the snow off of the windows, lights, front grills and number plates. There has been some thawing and freezing over the last couple of days, and most of the now frozen snow has been falling off of the car.

This morning I was back at work, so started up and switched all of the screen heaters on and went to scrape the frost from the headlights. The drivers side headlamp washer cover was gone! The snow on top of the bumper must have fallen off and took it with it. I guess the thaw/freeze/thaw must have allowed ice to form under the cover and when the bigger piece fell off it took the cover with it.

Moral - keep snow off of the top of the bumper too.

Now some good news. The replacement colour coded covers are only £4.50. Bad news for us EO owners is that we have to buy covers in primer and get them sprayed. Minimum paint order - one litre - about £40. then there is the cost of spraying.

Ouch.

Thought about going for black, at £9 for two, but I reckon they will look s***e.

·
Registered
1,086 Posts
Surely the covers just on the floor somewhere near the car? :S
I actually have a spare cover in EO for the driver's side but it's an EXTREMELY dodgy repair job and touch up that I have since have properly replaced. It's also got half the plasticy bit super glued to the back but if you get really desperate I'm sure I can spare it for ya

·
Registered
13,907 Posts
I would think the washer cover froze stuck open, then the weight of the snow knocked it off, maybe ? Never had any problems with snow removing the covers in four years?

They are very easy to refit, if you can't find it sounds like someone may have pulled it off.

·