Ford Focus ST Forum banner
1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm no nearer to getting to the bottom of this issue - noticeable flat spot/hesitation between 2-2.5k revs in lower gears.

I've got FORscan on my laptop, and the appropriate ELM cable, so would like to log various 'gauges' in a live environment. Can anyone recommend which sensors to log given the symptoms, as I've no experience with turbo setup. I'm making an assumption that I can run the car and then examine the historical data?? If this is not the case with this software, what should I be using?

There are no apparent DTC's , and I've cleaned the MAF and replaced the air filter (standard fitment). Car is stock.

It definitely feels like a boost issue...

TIA,

Ian

·
Premium Member
5,867 Posts
I'm new to this engine, and struggling to know which pipe(s) to check - all seems to be going on behind the block?? Still has the symposer fitted.
If you still have the symposer I would be looking there immediately if you suspect a boost leak! They were renowned for failing & splitting creating boost leaks which is why the vast majority of people got rid of them. Given the ages of the Mk2's now if your diaphragm is still in one piece I would be amazed. It is very easy to open it up & see the condition of things. If in doubt it can be temporarily blocked off to see if it cures things. If it does you can either fit a new one - or just pull the whole thing out & block it off properly.

·
Premium Member
219 Posts
Great, before the logging I would still try to disconect the negative battery terminal for 1 h to have a clean start.
Then if you can go for a drive with a codriver which would hold the laptop wih forscan logging so he could read the values to you the exact moment when you feel the hesitation...

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·