Ford Focus ST Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
323 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been hearing creaks from the rear of the car since i bought it 4 months ago and have been trying everything to cure them.
Tonight i spent quite a while adjusting the tailgate lock striker plate as when you press down on the tailgate it creaked which is what it sounded like when driving over uneven roads.
After adjusting it 20-30 times so the tailgate was level with the wings both sides i couln't stop the creak - UNTIL i sprayed WD40 on the eleccy release tabs next to the striker! the rubbers had dried out and caused the creaks

Worth trying as there seem to be quite a few people with creaking rears

·
Registered
4,760 Posts
QUOTE(weSTie @ 21 Jan 2010, 08:28 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>nowt worse than a creeking rear

Right ok I've sprayed mine but can you now quickly advise on how to stop the stinging.... I assume you had the same but I cant get it to stop and its getting worse! Tried water, no difference. Tempted to try mayonnaise.

I know.. I know... sick!

·
Registered
54 Posts
I have been trying to cure the noise from the rear hatch since i bought the car (2 years ago)
i tried all the usual moving the catch, wrapping in tape, spraying the seals etc etc but the noise kept coming back after a few days driving me nuts. I looked at the 2 small blocks in the catch that you mention but didnt think they could cause all that noise, but i gave them a dab of WD and now SILENCE
Thanks now i know if and when the noise returns exactly how to stop it.
Gaza

·
Registered
323 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
QUOTE(Gaza_st @ 29 Jan 2010, 09:23 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>I have been trying to cure the noise from the rear hatch since i bought the car (2 years ago)