Ford Focus ST Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
275 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I think I may have a faulty actuator. How do I adjust it?

My car isn't holding boost. When gunning it in lower gears it feels fine but the guage shows it boosting to 1.2 bar then immediately losing boost and falling to 0.9 bar. In the past I remember it holding for longer and higher.
Also if you floor it in the higher gears 5th+6th from 30mph it only peaks at 0.9 bar and goes no higher right the way through to 70mph+.
I remember it used to peak at 1.2 bar regardless of what start speed even if it did take a while to come on full boost.

Any clues to whats causing it?

·
FocusSTOC Nut!
17,448 Posts
could be a weak spring in the actuator mate. think i read somewhere before, that this can happen. think you can just replace the spring, although im by no means an expert!

·
Banned
6,700 Posts
I'd be very surprised if the actuator is servicable if the spring has given up the ghost, not even sure if you can get the actuator on it's own off Ford dealers or if it comes with a new turbo

Maybe before attacking the actuator have you tried resetting the KAM fuse - could be that the self-learning of the ECU has backed off the boost some. Easy enough to try before proceeding to tweek the actuator.

Let me know how it goes with the KAM

·
Registered
275 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I'll give the KAM a go and soak the MAF in IPA again as the new K&N that came with the Dreamscience induction kit could have thrown a bit of oil on to the MAF.
The cars still really fast and feels and runs fine at all times. Its just the boost guage shows that it isn't boosting as it should.
I'll keep you updated.